My Gravatar: gazing back at K.


 

Kathy’s visit to London celebrated my last days in that city. So wonderful to see my old Frisco friend, have endless conversations with such an intelligent woman, a proud Palestinian that I’m privileged to know! We visited the British Museum, got mad at the African Art loot that that institution ‘preserves’ to this day, and of which, we had learned in our African Art classes taught my our beloved Dr. B.

And then we visited the Tate Modern. Greeted by the powerful image of a black young man holding a VideoGun, we entered the museum, walked around and ended up in a room that took us again back to our African art classes. 

 

 videogun

 

 

The exhibition showed the work of Mali photographer Seydou Keita.

http://www.africanimagery.com/galleries/phpslideshow.php?directory=keita

 

Kathy shot this picture over my shoulder.

gazing-back-at-k

And while there I was admiring the contrast of black and white that shaped the figure of this very real African woman, now I look into her eyes and what I mainly see is her look, gazing back at K.

 

I chose it as my wordpress blog photo.

 

About manu|escrita

https://about.me/manu.escrita View all posts by manu|escrita

Leave a Reply

