Frisco out of the closet / Frisco saído do armário


I have a little cup that I love and brought from San Francisco, colourful, with geometric symbols surrounding the icons of the city, such as the golden gate bridge or the tram that takes tourists along Powell Street. The cup sits in my kitchen. I also have black and white photos of icons of my choice waiting to be hanged on my living. I love that city. It was the first place I lived after my hometown and the first step on a semi nomadic journey; a place which will always be close to my heart.

Watching Milk with Sean Penn the other day, felt familiar. It was like a piece of the historical puzzle of the city fell into place. I had heard of Harvey Milk, I had been to the Castro district many times, a place of pride for gays and an exotic, often disturbing environment for outsiders. Harvey Milk, played by Sean Penn, catalysed the gay rights struggle for civil rights transforming shame into pride, bringing together a movement that would establish to the word gay its true ‘joyful’ meaning. A movement which still battles for the same right to lawful unions granted to heterosexuals, even though homosexuals pay the same taxes and have the same obligations as the former.

Watching this wonderful film took me back to Frisco, but mostly brought me closer to its essence. It made me miss the many wonderful people, who happen to be gay, that I met in Frisco. And so, I can never watch Bullit again without thinking how much better Steve McQueen’s performance could have been, had he car chased his male lover down that very steep road to a happy gay ending.

 

Tenho uma pequena xicara que adoro e trouxe de São Fracisco, colorida, com desenhos geométricos rodeando os icones da cidade, tais como a ponte golden gate ou o elétrico que percorre Powell Street. A xicara vive na minha cozinha. E também tenho fotos a preto e branco e ícones da minha escolha esperando ser pendurados nas paredes da minha sala. Adoro aquela cidade. Foi o primeiro lugar onde vivi depois de sair da minha cidade natal e o primeiro passo na minha viagem semi-nomádica; um lugar que estará sempre no meu coração.

No outro dia vi o filme Milk com Sean Penn e tive uma sensação de familiaridade. Foi como se tivesse encontrado uma peça do puzzle da história da cidade. Havia ouvido falar de Harvey Milk, havia visitado o bairro Castro várias vezes, um lugar de orgulho para o movimento gay, e de um certo exotismo, por vezes desconcertante e acompanhado de preconceito, para quem vem de fora. Harvey Milk, interpretado por Sean Penn, catalisou a luta pelos diretos civis dos homosexuais, transformando a vergonha em orgulho, e criando um movimento que restabeleceria à palavra ‘gay’ o seu verdadeiro significado de ‘alegria’. Um movimento que ainda batalha em pleno século XXI para que os cidadãos homosexuais, que pagam os mesmos impostos que todos os outros cidadãos, tenham os mesmos direitos a uniões legais garantidos a parceiros heterosexuais.

Ver Milk levou-me de volta a São Francisco, principalmente a sua essência. Fez-me ter saudades das muitas pessoas maravilhosas, que acontece serem gays, que conheci em Frisco. E assim, jamais poderei ver de novo Bullit sem pensar quanto melhor seria a atuação de Steve McQueen, se ele tivesse feito aquela perseguição em alta velocidade rua abaixo, atrás do seu amante e em direção a um final feliz e muuuuito gay.

 

About manu|escrita

https://about.me/manu.escrita View all posts by manu|escrita

Leave a Reply

