The sun, the rain and my sandals / O sol, a chuva e as minhas sandalias


Today the winter ends in the southern hemisphere. The sun has crossed over the ecuador and will now gradually shine stronger and stronger until its peak in december, when summer arrives and I pop up for a visit to the cold north.

Right on time, like clockwork after months without rain – and as if announcing the coming of spring – today fell one of those torrential rains that I so love. I remember them. From 6 months ago. They mark the spring and the summer here. And I arrived last spring.

I knew them from previous visits and two things stayed with me. The first was the voice of Xangô, shouted via the thunder and lightening that often pair up with the rain. The second was the smell of fresh earth and air that always follows it. Something about it got under my skin and stayed with me for all my ocean crossings. I remember, as a child, hearing my parents talk about the unforgetable ‘smell’ of the air in Africa where they had lived for a few years. I wonder if it is a similar feeling.

As I stood by my kitchen door, looking at the rain falling loudly on my plants, I welcomed it and the spring. And I realized that, having arrived here nearly a year ago, I am completing a cycle. I lived through the spring and the summer, walked under its many rainfalls, I felt it go colder, enjoyed its sunny autumn and winter, and I am now closing a natural cycle in this lovely place where I chose to live. A cycle is closed, a cycle is opening… right here.

And then I also remembered… soon I will complete a whole year without shoes.  Be it spring, summer, autumn or winter, I have walked in sandals for a year. Under the sun and under the rain.

///

Hoje acaba o inverno no hemisfério sul. O sol atravessou a linha do equador e irá agora brilhar com força crescente até dezembro, quando o verão chega e eu apareço para uma visita no frio norte.

Mesmo a tempo, como um relógio, após meses sem chuva, e como que anunciando a chegada da primavera, hoje caiu uma daquelas chuvadas torrenciais que eu adoro. Lembrava-me delas. De há 6 meses atrás. Elas marcam a primavera e o verão por aqui. E eu cheguei na passada primavera.

Eu já as conhecia de visitas anteriores e duas coisas nunca esqueci. A primeira é a voz de Xangô, gritada no trovão e relâmpago que acompanham a chuva. A segunda é o cheiro de terra e ar fresco que sempre se seguem. Algo dessas sensações entrou na minha pele e me seguiu nas idas e vindas através do oceano. Lembro-me de ser criança e ouvir os meus pais falar do inesquecivel ‘cheiro’ de Africa onde viveram alguns anos. Pergunto-me se é uma sensação semelhante.

Parada na porta da minha cozinha, vendo a chuva cair ruidosamente nas minhas plantas, dei-lhe as boas vindas, e à primavera tambem. E dei-me conta que, tendo chegado à quase um ano, completo por estes dias um ciclo. Vivi a primavera, o verão, caminhei nas suas muitas chuvas, senti a temperatura baixar, curti o outono e inverno ensolarado, e fecho agora um ciclo natural neste lugar adorável onde escolhi viver. Fecha-se um ciclo, abre-se outro… por aqui.

E logo de seguida lembrei-me que em breve completarei um ano inteiro sem sapatos. Na primavera, verão, outono, ou inverno, ando de sandálias vai fazer um ano. Debaixo do sol e debaixo da chuva.

Começou de novo. Vou para a minha porta.

About manu|escrita

https://about.me/manu.escrita View all posts by manu|escrita

Leave a Reply

