For Nuno with Love / Para Nuno com Amor


TRIP, Saulo Araújo

A week ago, luso-brazilian painter Saulo Araújo exhibited his works of over four years ago. The occasion closed a cycle in his life that included the last 4 years in which he produced no art works. He was emotionally blocked after the death of his close friend Nuno, murdered in the streets of Lisbon in December 2006 by a drunk man. All under the “watchful” eyes of the police who didn’t move a finger on a street well known for drug trafficking and prostitution, where the authorities harass but do not protect. Nuno didn’t live in a safe neighborhood, but it was where he could afford a small cosy flat. That night he had cooked for me and Saulo and I saw painted on his wall, the last seven lines of the poem that follows. Hours later, those words would acquire an entirely new meaning and they have stayed with me ever since. This weekend on the 4th anniversary of his passage, Nuno will be on my mind. So, I’m rocketing the words he loved back at him. Up to that cloud, for Nuno, with love.

A semana passada, o pintor luso-brasileiro Saulo Araújo exibiu os trabalhos que executou há mais de quatro anos. A ocasião fechou um ciclo na sua vida onde ele não produziu arte. Estava emocionalmente bloqueado, após a morte do seu querido amigo Nuno, assassinado nas ruas de Lisboa em Dezembro de 2006 por um bêbado. Tudo debaixo dos olhos “vigilantes” da policia, que não mexeu um dedo, numa rua bem conhecido por trafico de drogas e prostituição, onde as autoridades molestam e não protejem. O Nuno não vivia numa rua segura, mas era onde ele podia pagar um pequeno apartamento. Naquela noite, ele tinha cozinhado para mim e para Saulo, e vi escritas na sua parede, as sete últimas linhas do poema que se segue. Horas depois, essas palavras adquiriram um novo significado, e desde então que andam comigo para onde vou. Este fim de semana, no 4º aniversário da sua passagem, o Nuno está comigo. Por isso disparo as palavras que ele amava para o espaço. Para aquela nuvem, para o Nuno, com amor.

Deixa-me sentar numa nuvem                                           Let me sit on a cloud
a mais alta                                                                                   the tallest
e dar pontapés na Lua                                                            and kick the moon
que era como eu devia ter vivido                                     that’s how I should have lived
a vida toda                                                                                  all my life
dar pontapés                                                                              kicking
até sentir um tal cansaço nas pernas                               until my legs were so tired
que elas pudessem voar                                                        that they could fly
mas não é possível                                                                  but it’s not possible
que tenho tonturas e quando                                             I get dizzy and when
olho para baixo                                                                        I look down
vejo sempre planícies muito brancas                             I always see white plains
intermináveis                                                                           endless
povoadas por uma enorme quantidade                        populated by a huge quantity
de sombras                                                                               of shadows
dá-me um cão ou uma bola                                                give me a dog or a ball
ou qualquer coisa que eu possa olhar                           or something else I can look at
dá-me os teus braços exaustivamente                          give me your arms wearisome
longos                                                                                          long
dá-me o sono que me pediste uma vez                          give me the sleep you asked of me
e que transformaste apenas para                                     transformed for your sole
teu prazer                                                                                   pleasure
nos nossos encontros e nos nossos                                in our encounters and in our
dias perdidos e achados logo em                                     days lost and found immediately
seguida                                                                                        after
depois de terem passado                                                     after the cross through
por uma ponte feita por nós dois                                     a bridge made by us
em qualquer sítio me serve                                                any place serves me well
encontrar o teu cabelo                                                         to find your hair
em qualquer lugar me bastam                                           anywhere is enough for me
os teus olhos                                                                             your eyes
porque                                                                                         because
sentado numa nuvem                                                            sitting on a cloud
na lua                                                                                           on the moon
ou em qualquer precipício                                                 or in any precipice
eu sei                                                                                            I know
que as minhas pernas                                                            that my legs
feitas pássaros                                                                          turned birds
voam para ti                                                                              fly to you
e as tonturas que a planície me dá                                  the dizzyness from the plains
são feitas por nós                                                                    is made by us
de propósito                                                                             on purpose
para irritar aqueles que não sabem                                to irritate those who don’t know
subir e descer as montanhas geladas                             to climb and go down icy mountains
são feitas por nós                                                                    made by us
para nunca nos esquecermos                                             so that we never forget
da beleza dum corpo                                                             the beauty of a body
cintilando fulgurantemente                                               shining blazingly
para nunca nos esquecermos                                           so that we never forget
do abraço que nos foi dado                                               the hug we got
por um braço desconhecido                                             by an unknown arm
nós sabemos                                                                            we know
tu e eu                                                                                         you and me
que depois de tudo                                                                that after everything
apenas existem os nossos corpos                                   all there is are our bodies
rutilantes                                                                                  bright
até se perderem no                                                               until they get lost in
limite do olhar                                                                        the limit of gaze
dá-me um cigarro                                                                 give me a cigarette
mesmo que seja só um                                                        even if it is just one
já me basta                                                                                is enough for me
desde que seja dado por ti                                                 as long as it’s given by you
mas não me leves                                                                  but don’t take me
não me tires                                                                             don’t take away
as tonturas que eu teria                                                      the dizziness I would have
que eu terei                                                                              I will have
sempre que penso cá de cima                                           anytime I think from up here
duma altura vertiginosa                                                      from a vertiginous height
onde a própria águia                                                             from where the eagle itself
nada mais é que um minúsculo                                        is nothing more than a tiny
objecto perdido                                                                      lost object
onde a nuvem                                                                          where a cloud
mais alta de todas                                                                   the tallest of all
se agasalha como um cão de caça                                    shelters like a hunting dog
leva-me a recordação                                                           taking a memory
apenas a recordação                                                              just the memory
da vida martelada                                                                   of a hammered life
que em mim tem ficado                                                        that is kept in me
como herança dada há mil e                                               like an inheritance of a thousand
duzentos anos                                                                           and two hundred years ago

deixa que eu fique                                                                   Let me stay
muito afastado                                                                          far away
silencioso                                                                                   silent
e único                                                                                         and unique
no alto daquela nuvem                                                         at the top of that cloud
que escolhi                                                                                 that I chose
ainda antes de existir                                                             before I even existed

Mário Henrique Leiria

Nuno Rafael Eustáquio, 1971-2006 (reproduced after Edward Hopper's influence)

About manu|escrita

https://about.me/manu.escrita View all posts by manu|escrita

2 responses to “For Nuno with Love / Para Nuno com Amor

Leave a Reply

